Born in 1985 in Michigan City, IN, USA
Lives and works in Brooklyn, NY, USA

Danielle ORCHARD

Évoquant les grands peintres de l'ère moderne, notamment Picasso et Matisse, les tableaux de Danielle Orchard font souvent référence à leurs styles et à leurs sujets en représentant des nus féminins de façon plus abstraite ; les figures sont représentées dans un style cubiste analytique à perspectives multiples ou résumées par des contours solides et des couleurs saturées. En abordant l’image plan par plan, ou en sculptant chaque partie abstraite avec d'épais empâtements, Orchard explore la représentation du corps féminin. Alors que le nu féminin est profondément ancré dans l'histoire de l'art en tant que muse et, plus récemment, de sujet d'étude, Orchard l’amplifie en y insufflant ses propres expériences d’artiste femme ayant été formée, modèle et même enseignante dans des cours de dessin d'après nature.
Des tropes de l'histoire de l'art aux activités de loisirs contemporaines, le spectateur peut s'attendre à trouver des récits et des scènes familières dans l’œuvre d’Orchard. En utilisant des motifs courants, Orchard évite aux spectateurs d'avoir à deviner le sujet et dirige plutôt leur attention sur son mode d'expression. Avec des arrière-plans ou des objets qui font écho au langage corporel des femmes, représenté par un registre émotionnel restreint, l'artiste invite le spectateur à faire preuve d'empathie et à contempler l'intériorité des modèles.
 

education

MFA in Painting, Hunter College, 2013                                                                                                                                                                     
BFA in Painting, Indiana University, 2009

solo shows

2022
Page Turner, Perrotin, Paris, France (forthcoming)

2021
At the Seams, Perrotin, Seoul
A Face for Every Season, Half Gallery, Los Angeles, CA

2020
Mother's Magazines, Jack Hanley Gallery, New York, NY

2019
Head of a Woman, Andrew Rafacz, Chicago, IL
3PM, V1 Gallery, Copenhagen, Denmark

2018
A Little Louder, Love, Jack Hanley Gallery, New York, NY

2017
Tennis Elbow, Journal Gallery, Brooklyn, NY

group shows

2022
Finger Bang, Perrotin, Paris, France
Chapeau!, Anton Kern Window, New York, NY
Regarde-moi, Perrotin, Paris, France

2021
Fantasy Body, Projet Pangée, Montreal, Canada
Eau de Vallotton, Tif Sigfrids, New York, NY

2020
Sympathetic Magic, Blum & Poe, Los Angeles, CA
Vortex, Kravets Wehby Gallery, New York, NY
Eros Unlimited, V1 Gallery, Copenhagen, Denmark

2018
Five Propositions, Roberts Projects, Los Angeles, CA

2017
Embodiment, D.C. Moore Gallery, New York, NY
Moving, Still, Monya Rowe Gallery, St Augustine, FL
Look Her Way, Thierry Goldberg, New York, NY
Try to Smoke It, curated by Holly Coulis, Taymour Grahne, New York, NY
SPRING/BREAK ART SHOW, Mulherin New York, New York, NY

awards

2019
Frederick Hammersley Artist in Residence, Tamarind Institute, Albuquerque, NM

2015
Alma B.C. Schapiro Resident, The Corporation of Yaddo, Saratoga Springs, NY

2013
MFA Fellowship Recipient, Dedalus Foundation, New York, NY

Born in 1985 in Michigan City, IN, USA
Lives and works in Brooklyn, NY, USA

Danielle ORCHARD

Nodding to the great painters of the modern era including Picasso and Matisse, Orchard’s paintings often reference their styles and subject by portraying female nudes in a more abstract manner; the figures are portrayed in multi-perspectival Analytic Cubist style or abbreviated otherwise into solid contours and saturated colors. As she tackles depiction plane by plane, or each abstract part that she sculpts with thick impasto, Orchard is exploring the female corporeal representation. While the concept of female nude finds itself deeply ingrained in art history as a muse and more recently being established as a subject of study, Orchard adds depth by infusing her own experiences as a female artist, having trained, posed, and even taught in life drawing classes.

In narratives ranging from art historical tropes to contemporary leisure activities, the viewers can expect to find scenes of familiarity in Orchard’s work. By using popular motifs, Orchard eliminates the viewers’ guesswork in discerning the subject, directing their attention to her mode of expression instead. As the backgrounds or accompanying objects echo the body language of the women, depicted with muted emotions, the artist invites the viewers to empathize and contemplate on the interiority of the models.

education

MFA in Painting, Hunter College, 2013                                                                                                                                                                     
BFA in Painting, Indiana University, 2009

solo shows

2021
- At the Seams, Perrotin, Seoul
- A Face for Every Season, Half Gallery, Los Angeles, CA

2020
- Mother's Magazines, Jack Hanley Gallery, New York, NY

2019
Head of a Woman, Andrew Rafacz, Chicago, IL
3PM, V1 Gallery, Copenhagen, Denmark

2018
A Little Louder, Love, Jack Hanley Gallery, New York, NY

2017
- Tennis Elbow, Journal Gallery, Brooklyn, NY

group shows

2021
- Fantasy Body, Projet Pangée, Montreal, Canada
- Eau de Vallotton, Tif Sigfrids, New York, NY

2020
- Sympathetic Magic, Blum & Poe, Los Angeles, CA
- Vortex, Kravets Wehby Gallery, New York, NY
- Eros Unlimited, V1 Gallery, Copenhagen, Denmark

2018
Five Propositions, Roberts Projects, Los Angeles, CA

2017
Embodiment, D.C. Moore Gallery, New York, NY
Moving, Still, Monya Rowe Gallery, St Augustine, FL
- Look Her Way, Thierry Goldberg, New York, NY
- Try to Smoke It, curated by Holly Coulis, Taymour Grahne, New York, NY
- SPRING/BREAK ART SHOW, Mulherin New York, New York, NY

awards

2019
Frederick Hammersley Artist in Residence, Tamarind Institute, Albuquerque, NM

2015
Alma B.C. Schapiro Resident, The Corporation of Yaddo, Saratoga Springs, NY

2013
MFA Fellowship Recipient, Dedalus Foundation, New York, NY